Wednesday, June 1, 2016

GALA Hispanic Theatre's Production of YERMA Makes History at the 2016 Helen Hayes Awards

History was made at the 2016 Helen Hayes Awards. The Helen Hayes Awards is a theater award named for the famed actress Helen Hayes (nicknamed the "First Lady of American theatre") to recognize excellence in professional theater in the Washington, D.C. area since 1983. The awards are divided to HELEN (non-Equity) and HAYES (Equity) groups.

For the first time in the history of the Helen Hayes Awards, a production subtitled in English, Federico García Lorca's Yerma at GALA Hispanic Theatre, was among the biggest winners of the night, with six awards received, including Outstanding Play. The other awards it picked up were for Outstanding Lighting Design-HELEN (Christopher Annas-Lee), Outstanding Sound Design-HELEN (Mariano Marín), Outstanding Set Design-HELEN (Silvia de Marta), Outstanding Director of a Play-HELEN (José Luis Arellano García), and Outstanding Lead Actress in a Play-HELEN (Mabel Del Pozo). The play also received nominations for Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Play-HELEN (Luz Nicolás), The James MacArthur Award for Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Play-HELEN (Iker Lastra) and Outstanding Ensemble in a Play-HELEN.

The production starred Mabel del Pozo, Iker Lastra, Luz Nicolás, and
 HOLA member Eric Robledo. For more information about the 2016 Helen Hayes Award winners, click here or here.

No comments: