Sunday, February 4, 2018

Guillermo del Toro wins the Directors Guild of America (DGA) Award for THE SHAPE OF WATER

Winners of the 70th Directors Guild of America Awards were announced Saturday, February 3, 2018 in a non-televised ceremony hosted by Judd Apatow. Prizes were handed out for both film and television by A-list presenters and former DGA winners at the Beverly Hilton in Beverly Hills, California. These awards are voted on annually by members of the Directors Guild of America (DGA) who work in film or television. 
Guillermo del Toro, shown above left, won the DGA Award for Best Film Director for his film The Shape of Water, while Reed Morano walked away with the award for Dramatic Series for "The Handmaid’s Tale", and Jordan Peele also won big with the First-Time Feature Award for Get Out. For more information, including a complete list of winners, click here.

Guillermo del Toro's THE SHAPE OF WATER Receives 13 Oscar Nominations

The 90th Academy Awards ceremony, presented by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS), will honor the best films of 2017 and will take place on Sunday, March 4, 2018, at the Dolby Theatre in Hollywood, Los Angeles, California. During the ceremony, AMPAS will present Academy Awards (commonly referred to as Oscars) in 24 categories.

del Toro
Guillermo del Toro's film The Shape of Water was the most nominated film, with 13 nominations. The film is nominated in the following categories– Best Film Editing (Sidney Wolinsky), Best Costume Design (Luis Sequeira), Best Cinematography (Dan Laustsen), Best Production Design (Paul Denham Austerberry, Jeff Melvin, and Shane Vieau), Best Sound Mixing (Christian Cooke, Brad Zoern, and Glen Gauthier), Best Sound Editing (Nathan Robitaille and Nelson Ferreira), Best Original Score (Alexandre Desplat), Best Original Screenplay (del Toro and Vanessa Taylor), Best Supporting Actress (Octavia Spencer), Best Supporting Actor (Richard Jenkins), Best Actress (Sally Hawkins), Best Director (del Toro), and Best Picture (Del Toro and J.  Miles Dale).

Also nominated for Oscars this year are Sebastián Lelio, whose film A Fantastic Woman (Una mujer fantástica) is representing Chile in the Best Foreign Language Film category, and previous Oscar winner Alejandro González Iñárritu, who is receiving a Special Achievement Academy Award for his virtual reality film project Carne y arena.

The Oscar ceremony, televised in the United States by ABC, will be produced by Michael De Luca and Jennifer Todd. Television host Jimmy Kimmel will host the ceremony for the second time. In related events, the Academy held its 9th Annual Governors Awards ceremony at the Grand Ballroom of the Hollywood and Highland Center in Los Angeles, California on Saturday, November 11, 2017. For more information, click here.