Tuesday, May 6, 2014

Nick Cordero, Bryan Cranston, Mary Bridget Davies, Sophie Okonedo, Others Win 2014 Theatre World Awards

2014 Theatre World Award
Nick Cordero.
The 2014 honorees for Outstanding Broadway or Off-Broadway Debut Performance, the 6th Annual Dorothy Loudon Award for Excellence in the Theater for an Outstanding Performance in a Broadway or Off-Broadway Production and the John Willis Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Theatre were announced Tuesday, May 6, 2014 by the Theatre World.

The winners will be celebrated at the 70th Annual Theatre World Awards Ceremony, which will be held Monday, June 2, 2014 at Circle in the Square. Theatre journalist Peter Filichia will once again host.

First presented in 1945, the Theatre World Awards, founded by John Willis, the editor-in-chief of Theatre World and Screen World, are the oldest awards given for Outstanding Broadway and Off-Broadway debut performances. The Theatre World Awards are presented annually at the end of the theatre season to six actors and six actresses for "their significant, reviewable, debut performances in a Broadway or Off-Broadway production."

The 2014 Theatre World Award winners are Paul Chahidi (Twelfth Night, or What You Will), Nick Cordero (Bullets over Broadway), Bryan Cranston (All the Way), Mary Bridget Davies (A Night with Janis Joplin), Sarah Greene (A Night with Janis Joplin), Rebecca Hall (Machinal), Ramin Karimloo (Les Misérables), Zachary Levi (First Date), Sophie Okonedo (A Raisin in the Sun), Emerson Steele (Violet) and Lauren Worsham (A Gentleman’s Guide to Love and Murder).

The 2014 Dorothy Loudon Award for Excellence in the Theater winner is Celia Keenan-Bolger for her performance as Laura in The Glass Menagerie. The 2014 John Willis Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Theatre winner is Christopher Plummer.

The Theatre World Award winners were chosen by the Theatre World Awards Committee that includes David Cote (Time Out New York and NY1), Joe Dziemianowicz (New York Daily News), Peter Filichia (The Newark Star-Ledger, Emeritus) Harry Haun (Playbill), Matthew Murray (Talkin’ Broadway), Frank Scheck (New York Post) and Linda Winer (Newsday).

The Theatre World Awards, Inc. Board of Directors is headed by Dale Badway (President) with Tom Lynch (Vice-President), Stephen Wilde (Secretary), Tabitha Falcone (Treasurer), and Michael Kostel. For more information, click here.

No comments: