Monday, April 4, 2016

Cesar Alvarez and Jeanine Serralles Receive 2016 Lucille Lortel Award Nominations

Nominations for the 31st Annual Lucille Lortel Awards, recognizing the best in Off-Broadway theatre, have been announced. Named for actress and theater producer Lucille Lortel, the awards ceremony gives out awards in 18 categories, and has been produced by the League of Off-Broadway Theatres and Producers (by special arrangement with the Lucille Lortel Foundation, with additional support from the Theatre Development Fund) and awarded since 1986. The voting committee is made up of representatives of the Off-Broadway League, Actors' Equity Association, Stage Directors & Choreographers Society, the Lucille Lortel Foundation, as well as theatre journalists, academics and other Off-Broadway professionals.

Jeanine Serrallés.
César Álvarez.
FUTURITY, the Soho Rep/Ars Nova musical (produced in association with Carole Shorenstein Hays) received five nominations, including one for Outstanding Musical. The musical has a book and lyrics by César Álvarez and music by César Álvarez and The Lisps. The other categories in which the show received a nomination included Outstanding Choreographer (David Neumann), Outstanding Lead Actress in a Musical (Sammy Tunis), Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical (Karen Kandel), and Outstanding Scenic Design (Emily Orling and Matt Saunders). Also picking up a nomination is Jeanine Serrallés, for Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play, for her work in the play Gloria (written by Brandon Jacobs-Jenkins; directed by Evan Cabnet for Vineyard Theatre). Other nominees this year include Mike Birbiglia, Georgia Engel, Anne Hathaway, Maurice Hines, Leslie Kritzer, Dael Orlandersmith, and Phylicia Rashād.

The 2016 Lortel Awards will be presented on Sunday, May 1, 2016 at NYU Skirball Center overlooking Washington Square Park in Manhattan's Greenwich Village. The event will also benefit The Actors Fund. For more information, click here

No comments: