Monday, February 9, 2015

González Iñárritu and Lubezki Pick Up Awards For BIRDMAN As They Head Towards Oscar Gold

Left to right: DGA President Paris Barclay,
DGA Award winner Alejandro González Iñárritu,
Steven Spielberg and Alfonso Cuarón.
The winners of the Directors Guild of America Outstanding Directorial Achievement Awards for 2014 were announced recently during the 67th Annual DGA Awards Dinner at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza in Los Angeles. Alejandro González Iñárritu won the DGA’s Award for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Feature Film for Birdman (or, The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)The Directors Guild of America (DGA) is a labor organization (founded in 1936) that represents the creative and economic rights of directors and members of the directorial team working in film, television, commercials, documentaries, news, sports and new media. For more information, click here.

Emmanuel Lubezki, shown at left, won a British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) Award (the British equivalent of the Oscars) for his cinematography work for Birdman (or, The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance). For more information, click here.

These are just two more awards that the feature film Birdman (or, The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance) has picked up as it heads to the Academy Award (aka the Oscars), where the film has nine nominations, including Best Picture.

No comments: