Thursday, December 11, 2014

González Iñárritu, Louis C.K., Gina Rodríguez among the Latinos nominated for 2015 Golden Globe Awards

The Hollywood Foreign Press Association (HFPA), with the assistance of Kate Beckinsale, Peter Krause, Paula Patton and Jeremy Piven, announced the nominees for the 2015 Golden Globe Awards on Thursday, December 11, 2014 in Los Angeles, California.

The Golden Globe Award is an American accolade bestowed in 25 categories by the 93 members of the HFPA, recognizing excellence in film and television, both domestic and foreign. Leading this year's film nominations is Birdman (or the Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance), with seven, while the miniseries "Fargo" (based on the Golden Globe-nominated film of the same name) led the television nominees with five.

Golden Globe nominee
Alejandro González
Birdman, besides receiving a nomination for Best Motion Picture - Comedy or Musical, also received  nods for direction (Alejandro González Iñárritu), screenplay (González Iñárritu, Nicolás Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris and Armando Bó), and score (Antonio Sánchez).

Other Latinos nominated for a Golden Globe this year include Louis C.K., for Best Performance by an Actor in a Television Series (Comedy or Musical) for "Louie" (FX); and Gina Rodríguez for Best Performance by an Actress in a Television Series (Comedy or Musical) for "Jane The Virgin" (The CW). (Shown below, from left to right: Golden Globe nominees Louis C.K. and Gina Rodríguez.)

"Jane The Virgin" and "Orange is the New Black" (Netflix), with numerous Latinos in their respective casts, were also nominated for Best Musical or Comedy Series.

The Book of Life (directed by Jorge Gutiérrez, co-produced by Guillermo Del Toro, with a score by Gustavo Santaolalla and starring Diego Luna, Zoë Saldaña, Kate Del Castillo, 2014 HOLA Awards honoree Héctor Elizondo, Danny Trejo, Cheech Marín, Ana De La Reguera, and Plácido Domingo, among others) was nominated for Best Animated Feature Film.

The 72nd Golden Globe Awards, honoring the best in film and television for 2014, will be presented on Sunday, January 11, 2015, in a ceremony to be hosted by Tina Fey and Amy Poehler, at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Beverly Hills, California, where they have been held annually since 1961. For more information, click here.

No comments: