Tuesday, May 2, 2017

Rubén Santiago-Hudson and Alex Lacamoire Pick Up 2017 Tony Award Nominations

This year's Tony Awards nominations were announced this morning by Jane Krakowski and Christopher JacksonThe Antoinette Perry (Tony) Award for Excellence in Theatre, more commonly known informally as the Tony Award, recognizes achievement in live Broadway theatre. The awards are presented by the American Theatre Wing and The Broadway League at an annual ceremony in New York City. The awards are given for Broadway productions and performances, and an award is given for regional theatre.

Rubén Santiago-Hudson.
Rubén Santiago-Hudson picked up his first nomination as a director for his work helming August Wilson's Jitney (he previously won a Tony for acting in Wilson's play Seven Guitars). Alex Lacamoire earned another nod in Orchestrations for his work on the Pasek and Paul musical Dear Evan Hansen (he has previously won two Tony Awards for his work orchestrating the Miranda-Hudes musical In The Heights and Lin-Manuel Miranda's Hamilton).

Alex Lacamoire.
In addition to Santiago-Hudson and Lacamoire, Latinos who have won Tony Awards include José Ferrer, Gabriel Gutiérrez, Wilson Jermaine Heredia, former HOLA honoree Priscilla López, Lin-Manuel Mirandaformer HOLA honoree Rita Morenoformer HOLA honoree Sara Ramírez, and Chita Rivera, among others.

Will Santiago-Hudson and Lacamoire repeat as Tony Award winners? The 2017 Tony Awards will be broadcast live from Radio City Music Hall in New York City, on Sunday, June 11, 2017 on CBS with Kevin Spacey hosting. For more information, including a list of all the nominees this year, click here.

No comments: