Thursday, May 25, 2017

Bobby Cannavale, Lileana Blain-Cruz, and Riccardo Hernández Win 2017 Obie Awards

The American Theatre Wing and The Village Voice announced the winners of the 62nd Annual Obie Awards, which recognize the best in Off-Broadway theatre, on Monday, May 22, 2017 at Webster Hall, in Manhattan's East Village.

The 2017 class of Obie Award winners include former HOLA Award honoree Bobby Cannavale, shown at right, who won a Performance award for The Park Avenue Armory's production of The Hairy Ape; Lileana Blain-Cruz, for directing the Signature Theatre Company production of Death of the Last Black Man in the Whole Entire World; and designer Riccardo Hernández for Sustained Excellence in Design.

Lileana Blain-Vega.
Riccardo Hernández.
The Obie Award judges panel for this season included Village Voice columnist and longtime chair of the Obie judges Michael Feingold, Obie and Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright Ayad Akhtar, Entertainment Weekly theatre critic Melissa Rose Bernardo, Obie-winning actor-singer Darius de Haas, Village Voice theatre critic Miriam Felton-Dansky, Obie-winning actor (and former HOLA Awards honoree) Daphne Rubin-Vega, and Obie-winning actor J. Smith Cameron. For more information, including a list of all the 2017 Obie Award winners, click here.

No comments: