Wednesday, December 14, 2016

Sofía Vergara, Rico Rodríguez, Selenis Leyva, Dascha Polanco, Elizabeth Rodríguez, Rodrigo Santoro, Others Nominated for SAG Awards

Nominations for the 23rd annual Screen Actors Guild (SAG) Awards were announced on Wednesday, December 14, 2016 by Sophia Bush, Common, JoBeth Williams, Jason George, and SAG-AFTRA President Gabrielle Carteris at the Pacific Design Center's SilverScreen Theater in West Hollywood, California.

Given by the Screen Actors Guild-American Federation of Television and Radio Artists (SAG-AFTRA), the SAG Awards (whose trophy is known as "The Actor") recognize outstanding performances in film and primetime television. 

Sofía Vergara and Rico Rodríguez once again received Actor nominations in the category of Outstanding Performance by an Ensemble in a Comedy Series as part of the ensemble of ABC's "Modern Family" (the  show is a previous four-time winner in this category). They are in the same category as Jackie CruzLaura GómezDiane Guerrero, former HOLA Awards honoree Selenis LeyvaJessica Pimentelformer HOLA Awards honoree Dascha Polanco, and Elizabeth Rodríguez for their work on "Orange is the New Black" (Netflix), which is a previous two-time winner in this category. They, along with their respective castmates, will vie for the Actor the ensemble casts of against "The Big Bang Theory" (CBS), and "Black-ish" (ABC), and "Veep" (HBO). 

Rodrigo Santoro is nominated in the category of Outstanding Performance by an Ensemble in a Drama Series with his castmates from "Westworld" (HBO). Also nominated in that category are the ensemble casts of "The Crown" (Netflix), "Downtown Abbey" (PBS), "Game of Thrones" (HBO), and "Stranger Things" (Netflix).

Viggo Mortensen (born in New York, but mostly raised in Argentina) received two SAG Award nominations in the category of Outstanding Performance by a Cast in a Motion Picture as part of the ensemble of Captain Fantastic, and one as Outstanding Performance by a Male Actor in a Leading Role for his role in the same film.

The 23rd Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards will be simulcast live on TNT and TBS on Sunday, January 29, 2017 at 8pm Eastern time. For more information, or to see a full list of nominees, click here or here.

No comments: