Tuesday, April 26, 2011

HOLA Member Bochinche

Bochinche refers to "gossip." In this sense, we use it to mention HOLA members who are getting acting and performance gigs.

Mauricio Leyton and Stefano Fossa will be acting in the play De Sous. Written by Camilla Le Bert and directed by Lucy Cashion, the play is produced by the Columbia University of the Arts, scheduled for an April and May run at the 3LD Art and Technology Center in Manhattan's Tribeca's neighborhood. The production also stars Le Bert, Lourdes Aguilar and Susana Victoria Pérez.

Repertorio Español is presenting Locuras en Wichita (Wild in Wichita). Written by Lina Gallegos and directed by Luis Fernández, the play was the winner of the MetLife Nuestras Voces Playwriting Competition. The production is set for a June and July at the Spanish Repertory Theater in the Rose Hill section of Manhattan.

José Cheo Oliveras and Eva Cristina Vásquez star in Carmen Loísaida. An adaptation (written by Vásquez) of the classic Prosper Merimée story and the Bizet opera as danced to the rhythms of salsa, merengue and bachata, the production is directed by Beatriz Córdoba, choreographed by Enrique Cruz De Jesús and musical arrangements by Jimmy Tanaka. Scheduled for a May run in the Teatro Círculo space in the East Village neighborhood of Manhattan, the piece also stars Diana Chery Ramírez, Yanko Bakulic, Kisha Tikina Burgos, Winston Estévez, Fermín Suárez, Jessica Florí and Maité Bonilla in the cast.

José Yenque is filming the Kenny Castillo film The Hearts of Men.

Nominations for The 77th Annual Drama League Awards were announced April 25, 2011. Kathleen Turner will host The 77th Annual Drama League Awards Ceremony and Luncheon, which will be held May 20, 2011 at noon in the Grand Ballroom of the Marriott Marquis Hotel in Times Square. The awards, the oldest of its kind in New York City, were created in 1935 to honor distinguished productions and performances both on Broadway and off-Broadway, in addition to recognizing exemplary career achievements in theatre, musical theatre, and directing. This year's nominees include Vanessa Aspíllaga (underneathmybed), Bobby Cannavale (The Motherf**ker With The Hat), Raúl Esparza (Arcadia) and John Leguizamo (Ghetto Klown).

Nominations for the 2010-11 Outer Critics Circle Awards, which honor the best in Broadway and Off-Broadway theater were announced April 26, 2011 at the Algonquin Hotel in midtown Manhattan. Nominees include Bobby Cannavale (Outstanding Actor in a Play, The Motherf**ker With The Hat), Yul Vásquez (Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play, The Motherf**ker With The Hat), Elizabeth Rodríguez (Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play, The Motherf**ker With The Hat), John Leguizamo (Outstanding Solo Performance, Ghetto Klown) and Matthew López (John Gassner Award for playwriting, The Whipping Man). Winners of the awards will be announced May 16, 2011. The annual ceremony will be held May 26, 2011 at Sardi's Restaurant.

If you are an HOLA member and want to submit a bochinche item, send us an e-mail at holagram@hellohola.org. If you are not an HOLA member, why not join?

No comments: