Tuesday, October 24, 2017

2017 HOLA Performer's Choice Awards Recipients Announced – Otra historia & Toc toc toc

The recipients of the 2017 HOLA Performer's Choice Awards were announced at the 2017 HOLA Awards on Monday, October 16, 2017 at the Flamboyán Theater in New York City. The general public voted online for Outstanding Production and Outstanding Solo Production, respectively, in the New York City Latino theater season between July 1, 2016 and July 2, 2017. About 1200 votes (for over 128 productions) were cast, and the finalists (top four or five vote-getters) were announced shortly before the awards ceremony. The recipients of the award would be the playwright, director, actor(s) and producer(s) of the producer(s). The finalists are listed below in alphabetical order by title.

Outstanding Production
 Implications of Cohabitation (Sudaca Theater)
• La lechuga (Coquí Theater)
• Luz negra (Group of the Arts)
• Mirandolina/La posadera (Teatro Experimental Blue Amigos)
• Otra historia (Group of the Arts)

Outstanding Solo Production
• La bruta bruja Bruna (Group of the Arts)
• Marlene Goes To Hollywood (The ONE Festival)
• Me voy porque puedo (Vieira Productions)
• Toc toc toc (Monologando - Contando Ando Festival)

J. Edgar Mozoub.
With about 32% of the vote, the 2017 HOLA Performer's Choice Award recipient for Outstanding Production is Otra historia (Group of the Arts). Receiving the award was producer-director-actor J. Edgar Mozoub*; actors César Augusto CovaVíctor Alfonso Echavarría (see below), Gabriel García, Luis Alberto García*, Mayté Hernández*2017 HOLA Awards recipient Damiana Reyesand Mario Saldaña. Also receiving a 2017 HOLA Performer's Choice Award for the production are producer Arberto Fernández and playwright Pedro Monge Rafuls. (Names marked with an asterisk indicate an HOLA member or a Friend of HOLA.)

Víctor Alfonso Echavarría 
accepting his 2017 HOLA
Performer's Choice Award.
With over 37% of the vote, the 2017 HOLA Performer's Choice Award recipient for Outstanding Solo Production is Toc toc toc (Monologando Contando Ando Festival). Receiving the award was actor Víctor Alfonso Echavarría (see above); director Martha Villada, and producer J.J. Franco. (Names marked with an asterisk indicate an HOLA member or a Friend of HOLA.)

Congratulations to all of the 2017 HOLA Performer's Choice Award recipients!!

No comments: