Saturday, May 16, 2015

Chita Rivera Wins the 2015 Drama League Award for Distinguished Performance

The winners of the 2015 Drama League Awards have been announced. The honors were presented during a ceremony at the Marriott Marquis Times Square on Friday, May 15, 2015.
First awarded in 1922 (and formalized in 1935), the Drama League Awards are the oldest theatrical honors in America. They recognize work in five competitive categories, including Distinguished Play, Distinguished Revival of a Play, Distinguished Musical, Distinguished Revival of a Musical, and Distinguished Performance.

Chita Rivera beat out over 45 other nominees (including Lin-Manuel Miranda) to win the Drama League Distinguished Performance Award. She won the award for her performance in the Terrence McNally-John Kander-Fred Ebb musical The Visit, based on the play by Friedrich Dürrenmatt. The recipient can receive this award only once during his or her career.

For more information on the Drama League Awards, click here.

No comments: