Monday, September 19, 2016

Latino/Hispanic Winners at the 2016 Primetime Emmy Awards

The 68th Annual Primetime Emmy Awards, honoring the best in primetime television programming from June 1, 2015 until May 31, 2016 (as chosen by the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences), took place on Sunday, September 18, 2016 at the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles, California, and will be broadcast in the U.S. by ABC. (The Creative Arts Emmy Awards ceremony will be held over two nights on Saturday and Sunday, September 10 and 11, 2016.)

There were no Latinos/Hispanics nominated in the major acting categories. Behind the scenes, Miguel Sapochnick (shown at left) won a 2016 Primetime Emmy for Outstanding Direction for a Drama Series for his work helming one of the most talked about episodes ("Battle of the Bastards") of "Game of Thrones" (HBO).

Dana W. Gonzales
 picked up a Primetime Emmy for Outstanding Cinematography of a Limited Series or Movie for his work on the FX limited series "Fargo".

Composer Víctor Reyes (shown at rightwon a Primetime Emmy Award for Outstanding Music Composition in a Limited Series, Movie or Special (Original Dramatic Score) for AMC's "The Night Manager".

In the field of stunt coordination, Eddie Pérez earned up a Primetime Emmy Award for Outstanding Stunt Coordination in a Comedy Series or Variety Program for his work on "Shameless" (Showtime).

To see the full list of 2016 Primetime Emmy Award winners (as well as a list of this year's nominees), click here.

No comments: