Sunday, February 22, 2015

González Iñárritu, Lubezki, del Toro Among 2015 Film Independent Spirit Award Winners

Alejandro González Iñárritu.
Film Independent, the nonprofit arts organization that produces the 30th Film Independent Spirit Awards, handed out top honors on Saturday, February 21, 2015 to Birdman, (or The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance), which won Best Feature (Alejandro González Iñárritu, John Lesher, Arnon Milchan, James W. Skotchdopole), Best Male Lead (Michael Keaton) and Best Cinematography (Emmanuel Lubezki).

Emmanuel Lubezki.
Benicio del Toro picked up a Film Independent Award this year as he was one of the winners of the Robert Altman Award, which was given to the director, casting director and ensemble cast of the film Inherent Vice (del Toro was one of the movie's stars).

The Film Independent Spirit Awards, founded in 1984, honor the best in independent filmmaking. It's ceremony is traditionally held in Santa Monica, California on the day before the Academy Awards. For more information in the 30th annual edition, click here.

No comments: