Monday, January 26, 2015

"Orange is the New Black" Reigns Supreme at the SAG Awards

SAG Award winners Selenis Leyva,
Dascha Polanco, Jackie Cruz
and Jessica Pimentel of Netflix's
"Orange Is The New Black".
SAG-AFTRA presented its coveted Actor statuettes for the outstanding motion picture and primetime television performances of 2014 at the 21st Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards in ceremonies attended by film and television’s leading actors, held Sunday, January 25, 2015 at the Los Angeles Shrine Exposition Center in Los Angeles, California.

Among the Latinos receiving an award were the Latina cast members of "Orange is the New Black" (Jackie Cruz, Diane Guerrero, Selenis Leyva, Jessica Pimentel, Dascha Polanco, and Elizabeth Rodríguez), which received the Outstanding Performance by an Ensemble in a Comedy Series (the closest approximation of a Best Comedy Series honor). They joined Uzo Aduba (who also won an Outstanding Performance by a Female Actor in a Comedy Series), Jason Biggs, Danielle Brooks, Laverne Cox, Catherine Curtin, Lea DeLaria, Beth Fowler, Yvette Freeman, Germar Terrell Gardner, Kimiko Glenn, Annie Golden, Michael J. Harne, Vicky Jeudy, Julie Lake, Lauren Lapkus, Natasha Lyonne, Taryn Manning, Joel Marsh Garland, Matt McGorry, Adrienne C. Moore, Kate Mulgrew, Emma Myles, Alysia Reiner, Judith Roberts, Barbara Rosenblatt, Nick Sandow, Abigail Savage, Taylor Schilling, Constance Shulman, Dale Soules, Yael Stone, Lorraine Toussaint, Lin Tucci, and Samira Wiley in receiving this honor for the critically acclaimed hit Netflix series.

Of the top industry honors presented to actors, only the SAG Awards are selected entirely by 111,228 performers' peers in SAG-AFTRA. The SAG Awards were the first televised awards show to acknowledge the work of union members. For more information, click here.

No comments: