Saturday, January 14, 2012

HOLA Member Bochinche

Bochinche refers to "gossip." In this sense, we use it to mention HOLA members who are getting acting and performance gigs. The names of HOLA members are in boldface.

Lin-Manuel Miranda, shown at left, opened this year's American Songbook series at New York's Lincoln Center with a mash-up of the work of Stephen Sondheim, Shawn Carter (also known as Jay-Z), Alicia Keys, Billy Joel and others, and his new project The Hamilton Mixtape. It took place in January at the Allen Room of Lincoln Center, located in the West Side of Manhattan. To read the New York Times review of the show, click here.

Raúl Esparza, shown at right, will next return to Broadway in Leap of Faith. Based on the Steve Martin and Debra Winger film directed by Richard Pearce and written by Janus Cercone, the musical has a libretto by Cercone and Warren Leight with songs by Alan Menken and Glenn Slater and directed by Christopher Ashley. He will play conman Jonas Nightingale (the Steve Martin role). It will begin performances on April 3, 2012 at the St. James Theatre and is scheduled for a late-April opening. Tickets go on sale January 23, 2012 via Telecharge. For more information, click here.

Caridad De La Luz
(also known by her nom de poésie La Bruja) is performing alongside Rob Vassilarakis (Simply Rob) and Fit to Flow at a fundraiser hosted by Richard (Ovados) Santiago for Kids with Voice and Teens with Dreams at Mamosa Lounge, located in the Castle Hill section of the Bronx. For more information, click here.

Luis Bordoy has started filming The Wailing. The film also stars Mike Smith Rivera and Tony Chiroldes and is produced by Latin Horror and La Sayona Productions and boasts Edwin Pagán as producer and director of photography, Ydaiber Orozco as associate producer and casting director and Leonardo Rodríguez as producer and director.

The Asociación de Cronistas de Espectáculos de Nueva York (ACE) is presenting their 44th annual ACE Awards. The awards covers multiple disciplines and will take place in the spring of 2012. The theater winners, which were announced this January include HOLA members Alfredo Huereca, Frank Robles, Míriam Cruz, Gerardo Gudiño, Modesto Lacén, Raoul Bretón and Ismael Cruz Córdova. In all, Repertorio Español walked away with 13 awards for four different productions, while SEA nabbed six, Teatro LATEA nabbed four, TEBA won 3 and Maldonado-Toro Productions and World View came up with a pair a piece.

If you are an HOLA member and want to submit a bochinche item, send us an e-mail at If you are not an HOLA member, why not join?

1 comment:

febri latif said...
This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.