Thursday, July 10, 2014

Louis C.K. and Fred Armisen Lead the Latinos Earning 2014 Emmy Nominations; Other Noms Include Lin-Manuel Miranda, Alfred Molina, Helena Bonham Carter, Bruno Mars, et al.

The 66th Annual Primetime Emmy Award nominations, honoring the best in primetime television programming from June 1, 2013 until May 31, 2014, were announced on Thursday, July 10, 2014 by Mindy Kaling and Carson Daly and there were many Latinos who earned nominations. 

Louis C.K. once again racked multiple nominations for his work on the FX series "Louie". His four nominations include Outstanding Lead Actor in a Comedy Series, Outstanding Writing for a Comedy Series and Outstanding Direction of a Comedy Series; he also earned a nod for hosting an episode of NBC's "Saturday Night Live".

Fred Armisen scored two nods– one for Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series and one for Outstanding Writing for a Variety Series– both for the IFC series "Portlandia".

For Outstanding Comedy Series, half of the nominees ("Louie", "Modern Family" and "Orange is the New Black") have Latino regulars in their respective casts. Of the Outstanding Drama Series nominees, none had Latino regulars in their casts; however, half of the nominees ("Breaking Bad", and "Game of Thrones" and "House of Cards") had at least one recurring character of Latino heritage.

Helena Bonham Carter, of Spanish-Czech Jewish-British heritage and shown at above right, scored a nomination for Outstanding Lead Actress in Miniseries/Movie for playing the British-American film star Elizabeth Taylor in the BBC America television movie "Burton and Taylor". Another Brit, Alfred Molina, of Spanish-Italian heritage and shown at above left, picked up a nod for Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Miniseries/Movie for his role in the HBO television movie "The Normal Heart".

Director Alfonso Gómez Rejón earned a nomination for Outstanding Direction of a Miniseries/Movie for his work on "American Horror Story: Coven" (FX).

Lin-Manuel Miranda picked up an Outstanding Original Music and Lyrics nomination for his collaboration with Tom Kitt for the 67th Annual Tony Awards television presentation.

Bruno Mars (along with producers Ricky Kirshner, Steve Bornstein and Rob Paine) earned an Emmy nomination in the category of Outstanding Short-Fomat Live-Action Entertainment Program for his performance in the "Super Bowl XLVIII Halftime Show Starring Bruno Mars" (CBS).

Cinematographer Dana Gonzales earned an Outstanding Cinematography for a Miniseries or Movie Primetime Emmy nod for his work in the FX series "Fargo". Cinematographer Gus Domínguez picked up a nod for Outstanding Cinematography for Reality Programming for his work on "Project Runway" (Lifetime).

Editor Christopher de la Torre picked up an Outstanding Picture Editing for Nonfiction Programming for "The Square" (Netflix). Editor Julián Gómez (and his fellow editors) of "The Amazing Race" (CBS) will go up against William Fabián Castro, Noel Guerra and Jason Muñoz and the other editors on "The Voice" (NBC) for the Outstanding Picture Editing for Reality Programming Primetime Emmy. Affonso Gonçalves picked up an Outstanding Single-Camera Picture Editing for a Drama Series nod for his work on "True Detective" (HBO). 

Eduardo Castro once again picked up an Emmy nomination for Outstanding Costume Design for a Series for his work in ABC's "Once Upon A Time". Arturo Castro earned a nomination for Outstanding Hairstyling for a Single-Camera Series for his work on AMC's "Mad Men". Mary Guerrero and her team (which includes Jennifer Guerrero) are nominated for Outstanding Hairstyling for a Multi-Camera Series or Special for ABC's "Dancing With The Stars".

To see a full list of the Primetime Emmy Award nominees for 2014, click here

The Primetime Emmy Award is an American accolade bestowed by the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences in recognition of excellence in American primetime television  programming. First given in 1949, the award was originally referred to as simply the "Emmy Awards" until the first Daytime Emmy Award ceremonies were held in the 1970s, and the word "primetime" was added to distinguish between the two. Emmys are considered the television equivalent to the Academy Awards (for film), Grammy Awards (for music) and Tony Awards (for stage).

The 66th Annual Primetime Emmy Awards, will be held on Monday, August 25, 2014 at the Nokia Theatre in Downtown Los Angeles, California, and will be hosted by Seth Meyers of NBC's "Saturday Night Live". The 66th Creative Arts Awards ceremony will be held on Saturday, August 16, 2014.

No comments: